One of the most visited castles in the Czech republic was founded in 1348 and built in gothic style by the Bohemian king and the Holy Roman Emperor Charles IV as a place for safekeeping of the royal treasures, especially Charles’ collection of the holy relics and the crown jewels of the Holy Roman Empire.
The construction of the castle was completed in 1365, when the Chapel of the Holy Cross, situated in the Great tower, was consecrated.
Entirely unique is the original decoration of the inner castle. The wall paintings in both towers are preserved from 14th century. The collection of 129 wood panel paintings by Master Theodoric is the largest of its kind in the world and has survived in its original situation of the Chapel of the Holy Cross.
The largest baroque portrait gallery of the Czech rulers, displayed replicas of the Imperial crown of the Bohemian kings as well as the unique castle water well are to be seen whole the year.